" /> Avantgardenet: February 2009 Archives

Om Netværket

Nordisk Netværk for Avantgardestudier er et nordisk forskningsnetværk støttet af Nordforsk 2004-2007. Nordisk Netværk for Avantgarde Studier vil styrke og koordinere mindre og spredte nationale forskningsmiljøer, bidrage til at fremme udveksling af viden om forskelle og ligheder mellem de nordiske lande og gøre nordisk avantgardeforskning internationalt synlig. Nordisk Netværk for Avantgardestudier afholder en årlig konference. Netværket danner også ramme for udarbejdelsen af De nordiske avantgarders kulturhistorie i 4 bind og et elektronisk arkiv for dokumenter fra de nordiske avantgarder. Det nordiske forskningsnetværk er en videreudvikling af det danske forskningsnetværk ”Avantgardernes genkomst og aktualitet” støttet af Det humanistiske Forskningsråd 2001-2004. Under forberedelse er et Europæisk Netværk for Avantgarde og Modernisme Studier, EAM, hvis første konference afholdes i Ghent, Belgien, maj 2008.

About the Network

The Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies is supported by Nordforsk 2004-2007. The Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies aims to support and coordinate small and dispersed national centres of research, help promote the exchange of knowledge about differences and similarities among the avant-garde currents and research in the Nordic countries, and make Nordic avant-garde research visible in a European and international context. The Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies has a yearly conference. Within the Network an editorial group is preparing a four-volume Cultural History of the Nordic Avant-Gardes and an electronic archive of documents from the Nordic avant-gardes. The Nordic network is an extension of the Danish research network ”The Return and Actuality of the Avant-Gardes” supported by the Danish Research Council 2001-2004. A European Network of Avant-Garde and Modernism Studies, EAM, is under preparation and will have its first conference in Ghent in May 2008.
Tak for støtte til
Powered by
Movable Type 3.31


Report: The Layers of the Avant-Garde in Finland

Symposium held at the University of Helsinki 9-10 October 2008

The symposium Layers of the Avant-Garde in Finland was a successful two-day event consisting of papers delivered by twelve experts and performances by four artists, and drawing an audience of

30–50 people. The organizing bodies of the symposium were the Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies, the Institute of Art Research of the University of Helsinki, the Finnish Society for Aesthetics and the Finnish Academy of Fine Art. The initiative for the symposium came from the Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies, and upon its proposal Adjunct Professor Kimmo Sarje planned and carried out the event with the assistance of the student Suvi Tervahauta.

For the entire report, click here

Superflex receive the George Maciunas Award

Who is betting on 47? / The George Maciunas Award.


The Nassauische Kunstverein Wiesbaden (Wiesbaden Art Association) proudly presents WHO IS BETTING ON 47? 

The show combines all awardees of the George-Maciunas-Award. Maria Eichhorn (1992) / Romuald Hazoume (1996) / Mona Hatoum (2000) / Dan Perjovschi - Nevin Aladag (2004) / SUPERFLEX George Maciunas Award 2009 - Driton Hajredini Career Grant 2008


Exhibition: January 18th - March 1st 2009


Finissage: FREE BEER, March 1st 2009 3-6 p.m. 


Press release from NKV:


The George Maciunas Award 


The award is sponsored by the Wiesbaden based Fluxus collectors Ute and Michael Berger, Juror is Rene Block and given to artist of the second generation of Fluxus. The aim is to support young international artists whose works suggest ideas inherent to the Fluxus art movement in order to keep the art current alive. The first award received Maria Eichhorn in 1992, during a show she had at the NKV at the same time as John Cage was honored there with a retrospective show during FLUXUS DA CAPO. Since then, the award has been assigned every 47 months - in honour to George Maciunas, founder of FLUXUS, who died early in the age of 47. FLUXUS has been officially founded at the "Fluxus Festival of Very New Music" which took place in Wiesbaden in 1962. This Fluxus event provided the first real broad impact for this new art movement. 

Previous awardees have been: 

Maria Eichhorn 1992

Romuald Hazoume 1996 

Mona Hatoum 2000 

Dan Perjovschi 2004 and Career Grant to Nevin Aladag


In 2009 the George Maciunas Award has been given to the Danish artist group SUPERFLEX:

Bjørnstjerne R Christiansen (*1969, Copenhagen, Danmark), 

Rasmus Nielsen (*1969, Copenhagen, Danmark), 

Jakob Fenger (*1968, Copenhagen, Danmark) 


Since 1993, the Danish artists group SUPERFLEX has been working together on a series of projects examining economic issues, democratic production conditions, and self-organization. The artists have examined alternative energy production methods and commodity production in Brazil, Thailand and Europe. In Wiesbaden they present a few of their works with one subject in common - copy. SUPERFLEX has been working for some years now on projects that all try to challenge and re-define the system of rights (copy-right, intellectual property rights, trademarks and the patent system). 

On show is:

FREE BEER/ Counter-game strategies/ Anti-piracy machine

FREE BEER/ Brewing Kit 

Supercopy/Lacoste (blackout) 

Copy Right (Single chair, White version) 


The George Maciunas Career Grant 2009 is given to Kosovo based artist DRITON HAJREDINI, showing his installation WHO KILLED THE PAINTING? and the Video THE SIN.



for Images please download http://www.kunstverein-wiesbaden.de/presse/47.zip


for further questions please contact NKV at 





Nassauischer Kunstverein Wiesbaden

Wilhelm Str. 15

65185 Wiesbaden / Germany